PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Cant Upgrade to Ubuntu 10.10 from 10.04

tendaic
October 18th, 2010, 09:25 AM
I am running Ubuntu 10.04LTS but when I attempted to upgrade to 10.10 I got an error message with text like "Failed to fetch cdrom://ubuntu 10.04LTS......please use apt-cdrom to make this CD-ROM recognised by APT.apt-get update cannot be used to add new CD-ROMS. Problem number one is that I am a complete noob and dont know how to use the command line.Secondly I am using a Samsung N130 netbook with no CD ROM so this leaves me confused. Please help on how I can upgrade, I have the .iso file for ubuntu 10.10 so advice if it is possible to upgrade using this image file

garvinrick4
October 18th, 2010, 10:38 AM
I am running Ubuntu 10.04LTS but when I attempted to upgrade to 10.10 I got an error message with text like "Failed to fetch cdrom://ubuntu 10.04LTS......please use apt-cdrom to make this CD-ROM recognised by APT.apt-get update cannot be used to add new CD-ROMS. Problem number one is that I am a complete noob and dont know how to use the command line.Secondly I am using a Samsung N130 netbook with no CD ROM so this leaves me confused. Please help on how I can upgrade, I have the .iso file for ubuntu 10.10 so advice if it is possible to upgrade using this image file
You have an internet connection I do imagine. Copy and paste this in a terminal and it will change your sources.list and upgrade to maverick.

sudo sed -i 's/lucid/maverick/g' /etc/apt/sources.list && sudo aptitude update && sudo aptitude dist-upgrade

You can do a fresh install by taking a usb flash drive and using startup disk creator and making a Live USB out of the .iso you have and booting it and installing.
Other than that I have no more salutions to upgrading, different styles of dist-upgrades but all to same ends. But that is all I have seen.
Startup disk creator:

sudo apt-get install usb-creator-gtk

h.vinay
October 18th, 2010, 11:03 AM
Hi garvinrick4,