PDA

View Full Version : What distro "just works" the best, from an administration point of view.

c@ssie
October 18th, 2010, 04:34 AM
I'm really new to linux, having only used macs until a few weeks ago. But it did take me long to figure out for myself arrange my dekskop to my liking and install the applications I like. So when I say just works, I don't mean what is set up to be the most like (mac, windows, etc). I mean what is going to require the least troubleshooting and the least "expert knowledge".

To me "just works mean"s, no broken dependencies, no software that crashes frequently, not having to add untrusted sources to get the latest versions of software, being able to find all of the applications I'm looking for in the repositories. Easy to understand GUI tools for configuring services.

Please tell me what you think, and why you think it. Just saying the name of the distro isn't very helpful, but explaining the pros and cons is.

Thanks.

CharlesA
October 18th, 2010, 04:45 AM
None of them.

They all have their quirks.

I've had success with Ubuntu and CentOS.

inobe
October 18th, 2010, 04:58 AM
folks here are going to tell us what worked for them, in the end you will need to try each of them anyway to see what works for you.

basically you can start now and save some time.

just stay away from opensuse and fedora, look for the buntu's and derivatives, few to choose from http://www.ubuntu.com/project/derivatives

you also have those forked versions like linux mint "many say" they are perfect for new users.

kaldor
October 18th, 2010, 04:59 AM
None of them.

They all have their quirks.

I've had success with Ubuntu and CentOS.

This.

Ubuntu:

- Easy to set up, easy to use, large amount of software and great hardware compatibility.

- Can be unstable and frustrating to configure in some cases.

CentOS:

- A standard distribution for the server. Based on RHEL and 100% compatible. I'd take this route if you need a server.