PDA

View Full Version : How to show a file selection dialog(wxFileCtrl )

yanes
October 18th, 2010, 02:01 AM
Hi all
I'm new to Linux coding , but i have a small knowledge in python ,
i used WxGlade to make my first dialog , but i need to use the wxFileCtrl (file:///media/BACKUP/LINUX/wx/classwx_file_ctrl.html)
in wx docs and the internet i found some documentations but i think i need a simple example
on how to import and use this class
or a fully detailed giude about this control

i'm waiting for your help

spjackson
October 18th, 2010, 01:22 PM
I'm new to Linux coding , but i have a small knowledge in python ,
i used WxGlade to make my first dialog , but i need to use the wxFileCtrl (file:///media/BACKUP/LINUX/wx/classwx_file_ctrl.html)
in wx docs and the internet i found some documentations but i think i need a simple example
on how to import and use this class
or a fully detailed giude about this control

Which versions of wxGlade, wxPython are you using? I don't think that the stable 2.8 series available in the Ubuntu repositories has this control - I believe that it's new in the 2.9 development branch. I can't see any support for it in 0.6.3 wxGlade either.

yanes
October 18th, 2010, 04:29 PM
yeah , it's true , my version you can this in the attached pic :)
do you think that i have to install wxPython 2.9 ?
i found the control in the wxWidgets 2.9 classes list
but i didn't found wxpython or wxWidgets 2.9 in synaptic packages

is ther another way to make it ? :)

spjackson
October 18th, 2010, 05:27 PM
yeah , it's true , my version you can this in the attached pic :)
do you think that i have to install wxPython 2.9 ?
i found the control in the wxWidgets 2.9 classes list
but i didn't found wxpython or wxWidgets 2.9 in synaptic packages

is ther another way to make it ? :)
Note that wxFileDialog is already in 2.8, so if that would meet your needs, then you are OK. However, for wxFileCtrl...