PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Fails to run from USB HDD

Mossey
October 17th, 2010, 05:14 PM
Hi Guys! I am new to Ubunto and would like to try it for a while before going totally live. I downloaded 10.04 32bit and the USB installer and installed it on a USB HDD it workes perfectly on my laptop. I tried the same USB drive on my main Desktop computer (intel i7 930, Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R MB) I select Boot to USB and get the Ubunto loading screen, but it never loads. I have tried downloading the latest 10.10 and loader in both 32 bit & 64 bit with exactly the same results. Anyone with an idea? If I do get this working how can I get programs or changes I make to Ubunto when running from the USB to remain as part of the way it runs everytime I boot.
Thanks

C.S.Cameron
October 17th, 2010, 07:16 PM
What USB installer did you use?
Both Startup Disk Creator and Universal have Persistence options that allow you to save settings and programs.
Unetbootin does not have a persistence option but can be hacked to add one.

I would suggest doing a full install to USB HDD as you should have plenty of space.

Following is for 10.10

Turn off and unplug the computer. (See note at bottom)
Remove the side from the case.
Unplug the power cable from the hard drive.
Plug the computer back in.
Insert the flash drive.
Insert the Live CD.
Start the computer, the CD should boot.
Select language
Select install Ubuntu.
Select Download updates while installing and Select Install this third-party software.
Forward
At "Allocate drive space" select "Specify partitions manually (advanced)".
Forward
Confirm Device is correct.
Select "New Partition Table" click Continue on the drop down.
Click "Free space" and "Add".
Select "Primary".
Make "New partition size..." about 1GB.
Location = Beginning.
"Use as:" = "FAT32 file system"
And "Mount point" = windows.
Select "OK"
Click "free space" and then "Add".