PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] GRUB/Windows BOOTLOADER

danielcg25
October 17th, 2010, 05:52 AM
Hello, this is my first post, so here I go:
I have a fresh install of Windows XP and Ubuntu 10.10. I have a ubuntu ONLY for when I need to fix Windows. I do not want to use GRUB or whatever, I just want the Windows bootloader to load and ask me if I want to boot Ubuntu, or XP. How do I do this? currently GRUB thingy loads, and I can load Windows, Ubuntu, or several other choices related to Ubuntu. I want the Windows BootLoader to askme if I want Ubuntu or XP and if i say Ubuntu, then show the GRUB thing.
I had this before I formatted my HDD, and installed Windows, and Ubuntu

PS: I am new to Ubuntu, and Linux in general, so please explain all terms.

dino99
October 17th, 2010, 07:20 AM
why do you want complicated things ? You says: "i just want ubuntu to fix xp when it need" LOL
I know how to do: remove it and you'll never fix it again, no need.

Install wine (winehq) on your ubuntu to use your exe apps, that it.

soldier1st
October 17th, 2010, 08:39 AM
dino99: i know what you mean but he wants the windows bootloader not Grub9I like Grub too). to the op: download this utility EasyBCD at http://neosmart.net/dl.php?id=1 and it will do what you want.

danielcg25
October 17th, 2010, 08:06 PM
But, if I only had Ubuntu, what if something goes wrong with Ubuntu? I would still have both OS's because I like to explore system files, and tend to muck things up LOL

JackNocturne
October 17th, 2010, 08:12 PM
IF your concern is of the shared computer usability just use GRUB hidden-time out set to 2 seconds or something else and set default boot to *******:-k,, that way when other users boot the computer they will just see it loading to windows.

Hidden timeout can be exited with "Esc" character.

danielcg25
October 17th, 2010, 08:30 PM