PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I'm new to Ubuntu, having some serious issues, can anyone help me?

fsm_derek
October 15th, 2010, 08:41 PM
So, I'm trying to install Ubuntu 10.04.1 LTS and I get through all the installation process (purple screen with logo, info, and progress bar) and when it's done, it reboots....but I just get a black screen? Thinking it was some kind of compatibility issue, I unplugged everything but my keyboard and mouse, still no luck. It gives a quick flash of text before the screen goes black, something about firmware?? Do any of you know what this is?? I've never used any form of Linux before so I am not familiar with any of this. Are there any known machines that this OS just doesn't work on?? Does a machine have to be built a certain way (like a mac) to run a Linux OS??? I've been fighting with this for 2 days now, uninstall, reinstall, uninstall, reinstall, etc etc.... it's just not working for me. Do I just give it up and stick with my trusty ol' Windows or is this fixable or what?? Please help me if you can......PLEASE, I'm ready to try something NEW!!!

Thanks in advance to anyone who's able to help me out :)

Derek

ratcheer
October 15th, 2010, 08:46 PM
Can you boot into recovery mode? Just when the machine boot-up sequence is completing (i.e., just before it is going to start Linux), press and hold the shift key. That should take you to a text screen with some Linux boot options.

Let us know.

Tim

fsm_derek
October 15th, 2010, 08:53 PM