PDA

View Full Version : Why Do You Prefer LTS Over Non-LTS

Khakilang
October 15th, 2010, 07:49 AM
I don't know whether this has been ask before. But I am curious as to why you prefer LTS over non-LTS. Beside The Long Term Support what are the other things the make you stay with LTS even when the non-LTS also has the latest bleeding edge technology.

Is it because of stability, bugs free, the kernel maybe etc...What really set them apart? Doesn't matter what version of Ubuntu you are using. Care to share your opinion between LTS and non-LTS.
:guitar:

Ctrl-Alt-F1
October 15th, 2010, 07:53 AM
I don't necessarily prefer LTS. I do prefer 10.04 to 10.10 but that is not usually the case. Usually I prefer the newest release.

I tried 10.10 and just didn't like some of the ways they did things, although it was quite fast. I've also been spending a bit of time in the Absolute Beginners area of the forums and a lot of people appear to be having a lot of problems with 10.10. I suspect that is because they are new to Ubuntu though. :guitar:

NightwishFan
October 15th, 2010, 08:22 AM
I like using the latest release myself when possible. However every machine I do not use day to day (such as my family have ubuntu laptops and my remote servers) I let them use the LTS so I wont have to fix/upgrade them for 2-3 years. :)

Paqman
October 15th, 2010, 09:38 AM
Horses for courses. I use the LTS on my media centre, because I want it to be a maintenance-free appliance. I don't want to have to tinker about with it every six months, I just want to have it work when I switch it on. I imagine most people using Ubuntu in a work-horse application use the LTS for similar reasons.

I use the interim releases on my desktop because I like to help out by doing testing.

Dragonbite
October 15th, 2010, 11:39 AM
A lot depends on the usage I think. For my family, I want something stable and supported so I don't have to keep fooling around with it so I go LTS.