PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrade 10.04 from 32 bit to 64 bit

caradeporra
October 14th, 2010, 04:57 PM
Hello all,

I have searched and scoured for a good tutorial on the easiest way to upgrade from 32 bit to 64 bit. I just got a memory upgrade to 8Gb and I don't want that money to be wasted since my 32 bit install will not see it. If there is a way to get my 32 bit system to see all the RAM I would appreciate that.

Other than that, I would like to know what to back up so I can keep as many settings as possible the same. I am a not an expert on which programs will be different. The main programs I use are as follows:

VirtualBox
KMyMoney
QuantaPlus
GKrell
Screenlets
Tellico
RubyMine

I assume the easiest thing would be to just back up all my files and reinstall these programs. Main question is what folders can I back up? Home folder is a given, but what other folders will remain the same from 32 bit to 64 bit.

If anyone knows of a tutorial out there that goes through all this it would be much appreciated.

Carade

cascade9
October 14th, 2010, 05:04 PM
You can tupgrade from 32bit to 64bit, you would need to reinstall.

Getting a PAE kernel would let you see all the RAM, but 64bit is a better option IMO.

Slim Odds
October 14th, 2010, 05:30 PM
This keeps coming up again and again.

You're wasting your time and everyone else's.

Just backup your data and install the 64 bit version.

caradeporra
October 14th, 2010, 06:48 PM
Cascade, thanks for your input - I agree with you that 64bit is the better option.

Slim, mucho sorry to waste your time. I realize one can't upgrade directly to 64 bit. I understand that in order to upgrade one needs to format and install 64 bit. My main question, and I should have made this clearer, is what to back up. I mean, it isn't the same as a complete backup/restore would be since it will be 64 bit kernels and files. What files can be backed up?