PDA

View Full Version : ubuntu on portable HD

losthawken
October 13th, 2010, 09:31 PM
Hey all,

I'm new here, but I wanted to throw this out there to get feedback and discuss how I created my portable ubuntu system. I'm really a novice at all of this and there may have been better methods (which I would love to hear) and there may also be problems I have not yet encountered that others may be able to predict.

Essentially what I have done is created a personal portable operating system configuration on a portable hard drive. It allows me to work in a consistent environment with all of my personal files, software, and settings by plugging into any computer that will boot from a USB. In addition the system is designed to back-up both my work computer (on which which I cannot install Ubuntu due to policy) and my home computer and have all of the files from both available to me wherever I am.

Tools used:

Computer capable of booting from USB

320 GB Iomega eGo (Nicknamed DataFlask)

Ubuntu 10.04.1 Live CD (downloaded and burned .iso to CD)

Additional Software:

GParted

Unison

Truecrypt (http://www.truecrypt.org/downloads)

Step 1: Partitioning

This was done using GParted on the Live CD. The first thing to do was to create the partition set-up on the portable drive. In order to keep my backed-up/synced folders accessible to the windows systems the first partition is left as a ~300 GB NTFS formatted partition. Next next comes the boot partition; a 512 MB ext2 partition flagged as 'boot'. And finally the ~20 GB extended partition with the ext4 section and the swap area.

| 300 GB NTFS | 512 MB ext2 *boot || < extended | ~20 GB ext4 | swap | /extended > ||

Step 2: Ubuntu install