PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] multisync-tools not available any longer after upgrade from Lucid to Maverick

patrickvdbemt
October 13th, 2010, 01:41 PM
Hi all,
Until yesterday I had the Lucid environment running with my PDA (a WM6) synchronised with Evolution via Synce and the Multsync-tool.
After my upgrade to Maverick I do not have the multisync tools available any longer ($sudo apt-get install multisync-tools returns that the app is not available).
In my old config I could add libraries in the Synaptic package manager, however these are limited up to Lucid.
Please have a look at this website that enabled me to sync in my previous os : µ
http://www.synce.org/moin/GuidoDiepen/NewUbuntuStuff/ModernDevice
https://launchpad.net/~synce/+archive/ppa
Can someone please help me out of this as I am not that technical to do setups without a proper document base.
patrick.

TBerk
October 16th, 2010, 10:41 PM
The question will be, in the short term,can we specify the Lucid Lynx 'version' and press-fit it into Meerkat Maverick.

I'm likely going to try that today, I'll report back...

TBerk
looking for the 'subscribe to this thread' link

TBerk
October 17th, 2010, 12:04 AM
So far I've thrown every synce and multi-sync 'apt-get install' I can find and due to some missing apps/moduls/files all I have so far is a SynCE Tray Icon that can 'see' the pda.

I'm still missing a sync function (which I'm not so in need of at the moment) but also missing is the ability to browse the device w/ Nautilus, etc.

So, (and yes my post is lacking specifics at the moment...) I have half an install.

TBerk
PS- my pda is running WinCE 2003

patrickvdbemt
October 21st, 2010, 02:23 PM
Hi there,
indeed as you state the Synce icon is available, I can open the PDA file system so have access to the files stored on it. However the addresses and calendar synchronisation is more or less a backup for my PDA as well, and therefore I am hoping that soon the msynctool becomes available one way or the other.