PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Applications not showing up.



Sexraider
October 13th, 2010, 09:36 AM
I've attempted to install VBA-M and Gambatte using the .deb packages and after it installs I cannot find the application under "Applications" I'm trying to play some ROMs!

Why is this?

spikoley
October 13th, 2010, 11:11 AM
The program probably isn't set up to add a menu item. You can manually set it up. The first thing is to find out where the program is located.


which program-name

This will return the location of the program.

1. Right click on Applications
2. Edit Menus
3. Select the location you want it and click New Item
4. Enter in the details and the complete path from the which command

Now it will show up in the menu.

Sexraider
October 13th, 2010, 12:29 PM
Well, I tried using that command and I typed:



which gambatte

and



which gambatte-qt

Terminal didn't display anything.

What is the default path after installing using the deb?

dr_kabuto
October 13th, 2010, 01:30 PM
You can check which files are installed with a package using synaptic. Executable are installed /usr/bin.

JustinR
October 13th, 2010, 01:32 PM
I've attempted to install VBA-M and Gambatte using the .deb packages and after it installs I cannot find the application under "Applications" I'm trying to play some ROMs!

Why is this?

Restart your computer.

Sexraider
October 13th, 2010, 01:47 PM
You can check which files are installed with a package using synaptic. Executable are installed /usr/bin.

Thank you very much.

Resolved.