PDA

View Full Version : My Resume...

kevin11951
October 13th, 2010, 05:12 AM
I wanted to show off my most recent resume... Does anyone have any ideas for things I should change?

About Me:
I am seventeen, and I have had very little experience in my life so far...

I plan to get a lot more experience over the next few years via a business I plan to start called Kviero-IT (see sig), plus I plan to get an Associate Degree in LAN Administration from ACC (http://www3.austincc.edu/it/cms/www/awardplans/awardplan.php?year=2010&type=CC&group=PCCIS&nid=9768&apid=65) this year, or next.

Page 1:
http://ubuntuone.com/p/K6K/

Page 2:
http://ubuntuone.com/p/K6L/

I used images because it is much easier to block out words in gimp, than it is to edit a PDF.

Edit: Images updated to reflect recent changes (10/13/10)

pwnst*r
October 13th, 2010, 05:25 AM
In a normal format on PDF does that fit onto one page? If not, you should try and make it fit.

Also, your first mention of Clonezilla is spelled incorrectly.

brian183
October 13th, 2010, 05:31 AM
Having a two page resume is fine. Also, for each experience it's a good idea to have a "Key Skills" line where you list out tools you've learned to use (ie. software) and other skills.

phredbull
October 13th, 2010, 05:31 AM
I'd change the heading "Hobbies" to "Skills" or "Skills and Interests". And pwnst*r is right; if you don't have a ton of relevant experiences, try to make it all fit neatly onto 1 page.

kevin11951
October 13th, 2010, 05:32 AM
In a normal format on PDF does that fit onto one page? If not, you should try and make it fit.

Also, your first mention of Clonezilla is spelled incorrectly.

It does take up two pages, however, there is no way to get it all to fit on one page, unless the font was set to 1/4th of what it is now...

Fixed the typo (though, not in the images, just my personal copy...)

Kdar
October 13th, 2010, 05:35 AM
My resume is also 2 pages.

First page have things like Objective, Education, Work experience