PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Where is Battery Indicator Ubuntu 10.10 netbook

mirroalex
October 12th, 2010, 10:25 PM
Hi everyone:KS,

I'm new to ubuntu netbook edition or in more general to ubuntu, i had ubuntu 10.04 desktop previously so it had battery indicator but today i have installed ubuntu 10.10 netbook and i can't find battery indicator or any place where i can check my battery state.

is there anyone who can bring me to light? :guitar:

Hippytaff
October 12th, 2010, 11:28 PM
Not sure where the icon is...still on 10.04 and its on the panel, but you can get the info from the terminal

acpi

You can open a terminal by doing Ctrl+Alt+t

mirroalex
October 13th, 2010, 08:50 AM
Not sure where the icon is...still on 10.04 and its on the panel, but you can get the info from the terminal

acpi
You can open a terminal by doing Ctrl+Alt+t

Thanks i will give it a try, about 10.04, yes battery indicator was ok but in 10.10 NETBOOK there is not any battery indicator even i looked at the ubuntu page where there are examples of features of 10.10 netbook and in the pictures there is not such thing as battery indicator !

P.S ubuntu 10.10 DESKTOP is ok also problem is netbook edition! may be u don't have to know your battery state in netbook edition! :(:confused:

maharaja2
October 13th, 2010, 12:47 PM
I don't have that indicator too, but it shows up when i unplug my power cable.

mirroalex
October 14th, 2010, 06:53 AM
I don't have that indicator too, but it shows up when i unplug my power cable.

Yeah that is the solution, plug and unplug ac power seems to fix that, now i have battery indicator!

THANKS.

JohnTheLutheran
October 17th, 2010, 03:05 PM
This one was baffling me, too. But when the indicator is there, right-click it, choose "Preferences", go to the "General" tab and then select "Always display an icon" to have the indicator visible at all times (useful with my netbook's very low-capacity battery...).

mirroalex
October 20th, 2010, 09:17 AM