PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I make my Ubuntu laptop secure?

Ranger_Joe
October 12th, 2010, 04:49 PM
I am very new to Ubuntu. I installed my first version with 10.04 and now I've upgraded to 10.10. I've actually only been using Ubuntu for about 4 days.

I ABSOLUTELY love it. However, I'm a little confused about how to make it secure. A feature of Linux in general that attracted me was its stability and safety.

I guess I'm wondering, is Ubuntu safe and secure out of the box? Are the default firewall settings "good enough?" Is Firefox the safest browser? Do I need anti-virus software? What is App Armor and how do I use it? Can Linux even get viruses? What about rootkits?

I understand that I have posed a lot of questions. I don't at all expect any one user to answer them all. Please just address one or two and let me know what you think.

Again, I'm VERY new to Ubuntu and computers in general. So, if you give me instructions, imagine you're talking to a 3 year old.

Thanks!

migs73
October 12th, 2010, 04:55 PM
AFAIK The firewall (UFW) is set to all ports closed by default.(doesn't get more secure than that!!)

Although viruses could (can) be written for Linux, there are no known ones 'in the wild'. Even if one did infect your PC the compartmentalised set up of Linux means the chances of it destroying everything is very remote.

look here for more info from someone who know an awful lot more than me;
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510812

celticbhoy
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=510812

Hippytaff
I've never had any problems out of the box as far as security goes, I know some people tweak the firewall etc

cwbar_1
October 12th, 2010, 04:58 PM
Greetings! You don't have to worry about security for your new Ubuntu installation. Completely safe out of the box. Been using Ubuntu for 4 years without additional protection. Nothing has ever happened. 99.999% of all viruses cannot execute in the linux environment.