PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] OpenVPN LiveCD

Ctorpor
October 12th, 2010, 02:01 PM
Hi everyone. I'm putting this LiveCD together as a side-project. If anyone else is interested I'd be glad to put the results here when I'm done.

background
I'm fairly new to the whole Linux thing, but I am liking the whole customization aspect of things. Raised on Windows I could use some help. :)

I'm trying to set up a Ubuntu LiveCD that serves two functions and two functions only:

1. Pre-configured OpenVPN connection
2. Internet access to only 1 other IP

I've been working on this for a few weeks before stumbling here in defeat.
Using the Reconstructor (here (https://reconstructor.apphosted.com/)) I have been able to use gconf settings to effectively lock down the desktop and panel and get the aesthetics side of things to work.

problems
1. OpenVPN Settings
I've been using kvpnc to connect to the openVPN server, but cannot find a way to import the configurations into a liveCD via chroot. In fact, I cannot find the kvpnc configuration files at all..
Does anyone else know where they are located in the file system?

2. Firefox Lockdown
At first I was going to try locking down the resolvable IPs by using a Firefox extension. However, it seems the -install-global-extension command tag no longer works. The next idea was to reconfigure the resolv.conf file to resolve all traffic to 127.0.0.1 and set the homepage of Firefox to the IP of the desired website. This would be sufficient for the know-how level of the 30 or so users by whom this LiveCD would be used. The problem is that resolv.conf is rewritten by NetworkManager on each connect. Is there any way to prevent this?

As I said before, I've been working on this for a few weeks as it is also my first foray into the wilds of the Linux distros. If you read all of that. Thank you already.
Am I going about this all wrong? If there is an easier method of doing this I am all ears.

Ctorpor
October 14th, 2010, 03:19 PM