PDA

View Full Version : USA turbo tax alternative

chicoharv
October 11th, 2010, 10:59 PM
I want to forget windows completely but need to keep duel boot unless I can find alternative software or if Turbo tax deluxe will work with WINE;does anybody have answers?

techunit
October 11th, 2010, 11:07 PM
Paper, Pen, And Calculator. I don't believe so. I do my taxes by hand (auditing and security reasons). As for an alternative I can't thing of any that are going to work that well or even work at all. I know that you can do your taxes in OOO spreadsheet...

DavePlummer
October 12th, 2010, 12:39 AM
Most online services work nicely in Firefox on Ubuntu. I use TaxACT.

sgosnell
October 12th, 2010, 12:48 AM
I've been using TurboTax Online for a couple or 3 years, and it works well with Ubuntu. Using the online edition, it doesn't matter what your OS is. Plus you don't have to install the software.

efflandt
October 12th, 2010, 01:18 AM
I also use TaxAct, which is free on-line (any income) if you want to, but I pay $9.95, so they retain data to make the following year easier. But first I download the PDF tax forms and instructions and do those. If everything matches I am good to e-file, if not, I figure out what "I" did wrong.

Once you finish with TaxAct on-line, you can print/save as PDF the forms that will be e-filed (or that you can mail in).

My state has their own free on-line e-file.

None of that on-line requires any particular OS.

oldwismn
January 25th, 2011, 07:45 PM
I want to forget windows completely but need to keep duel boot unless I can find alternative software or if Turbo tax deluxe will work with WINE;does anybody have answers?