PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No wireless, Dell Vostro 1320, overwritten Windows!!!

bat717
October 11th, 2010, 09:34 PM
I'm so stupid.
I am a COMPLETE beginner when it comes to Ubuntu, and linux in general. I've been wanting to try it for a while, and today I bought a magazine, Linux User and Developer, that had a disc with it that included Ubuntu 10.10. It said you could install it from the disc. So I inserted the disc, restarted the computer and booted from it. I thought I followed all the instructions correctly to install it alongside my Windows Vista partition, but obviously not, as my entire partition was deleted with all my files. Oops. Please don't laugh!
So moving on from that, I decided I would just use Ubuntu. But I can't get the wireless network to enable. I'm online using a mobile dongle, but it's very slow, and I'd like to use the WiFi. It's not my house, so I can't connect to the router, and I wouldn't have a clue what I was doing. To be honest, I don't have a clue what I'm doing anyway! I've installed the Broadcom STA, and it says it is activated and currently being used. But the option to connect to a wireless network is greyed out and it says wireless is disabled. I don't know how to enable it! Wireless was definitely turned on in Windows before I deleted it. It's controlled by a hardware switch on the side of my computer.
Please, please help! I am such a beginner at this, and the Terminal scares me, so please explain everything to me fully if possible!
Thank you so much.

bat717
October 13th, 2010, 12:18 PM
Please help me!

bobbob1016
October 13th, 2010, 12:23 PM
Try System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers
You might be able to install the drivers from there. Further than that, I don't know since everything I'm seeing on google says wifi should just work.

johnnytm
October 13th, 2010, 01:24 PM