PDA

View Full Version : Keyboard shortcut for 'Workspaces' button?

weeix
October 11th, 2010, 03:08 PM
I'm trying the new 10.10-netbook and found a purple 'Workspaces' button in the sidebar. When pressed, it'll show every windows displaying in all 4 workspaces. I very very LOVE this button.

I'd like to know if there is any keyboard shortcut for this. :)

Note: Why couldn't I print screen while using this button. I have to use GIMP to do it instead. Is this normal?

rinaldow
October 13th, 2010, 11:16 PM
Yeah, I appreciate this option very much as well!
Anyone?

kerry_s
October 13th, 2010, 11:21 PM
look under keyboard shortcuts & see what's set.

Hariama
October 17th, 2010, 09:02 AM
look under keyboard shortcuts & see what's set.

With the chance of looking really stupid, I've searched in the shortcuts menu, but I still can't find the option to set keys for the 'show all workspaces'. Any help? :p

Windowsbites
October 17th, 2010, 09:36 AM
I'm pretty new to all of this as well, but I'm fairly certain that the Windows logo (super) key + a will pull show every window you have open in every workspace. you can also use ctrl+alt+left or right arrow to navigate between workspaces. hope this helps. and if that doesn't work you may need to play around with your workspace options. and as far as keyboard shortcuts go just google "Ubuntu shortcut keys" there are plenty of sources out there to learn additional shortcuts you didn't even know existed.

also I forgot this til just now but hitting ctrl+alt+down will bring up a smaller version of each workspace side by side (this only works for horizontal workspaces) and lets you move left or right with the arrow keys as long as you keep holding ctrl+alt. whichever workspace you're on when you release the ctrl and alt keys will become the new focused focused workspace

kerry_s
October 17th, 2010, 10:39 AM
:lolflag: yeah, that would work if we were using gnome with compiz, but were not.