PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Boot Directly to Ubuntu over Vista

Don Ju4n
October 11th, 2010, 03:05 AM
Hi guys

Sorry if this has been posted before im a complete newbie to ubuntu... (i just finished installing about 15 minutes ago)

I know theres something called the GRUB that lets me choose whether to boot to Vista or Ubuntu, but since Ubuntu is way awesome i always boot right into it (unless i gotta change something on vista). The question is if i can skip the GRUB menu and boot right into ubuntu. Thanks

mikeyphi
October 11th, 2010, 11:40 AM
Hi guys

Sorry if this has been posted before im a complete newbie to ubuntu... (i just finished installing about 15 minutes ago)

I know there's something called the GRUB that lets me choose whether to boot to Vista or Ubuntu, but since Ubuntu is way awesome i always boot right into it (unless i gotta change something on vista). The question is if i can skip the GRUB menu and boot right into ubuntu. Thanks

If you've got the 2 OS's on different HD's - just disconnect Vista before installing Ubuntu. However if they're on the same HD - you need Grub to be able to boot into vista; you can reduce the delay time before the system automatically boots into Ubuntu.

Mark Phelps
October 11th, 2010, 02:51 PM
Install startup-manager.

Then, open it and use the pull-down to select your default OS.

When you reboot, that will launch if you don't select anything else.

If you want to see NO menu, experiment with reducing the wait time. Also can be done using startup-manager.

BingHeZhouKe
October 11th, 2010, 03:05 PM
there is a file named "grub.cfg" in /boot/grub ,you can edit it to make it.
there are several lines like this :
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
set timeout=-1
else
set timeout=10
fi

you just need change "timeout=10" to "timeout=0",then svae the file .
the file is readonly,you must run as root to change its attribution before edit it.
wish you good luck

Rubi1200
October 11th, 2010, 03:37 PM