PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Partial Upgrade



Vyizis
October 10th, 2010, 05:59 PM
I upgraded my server to 10.10 from 10.04 today using do-release-upgrade, it seemed to complete fine and I rebooted the system to be greeted by the following on login:


Linux itseybox 2.6.35-22-generic-pae #33-Ubuntu SMP Sun Sep 19 22:14:14 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux
Ubuntu 10.10

Welcome to Ubuntu!
* Documentation: https://help.ubuntu.com/

System information as of Sun Oct 10 17:50:01 BST 2010

System load: 0.47 IP address for wlan0: 192.168.0.100
Usage of /: 1.7% of 143.67GB IP address for as0t1: 5.5.4.1
Memory usage: 26% IP address for as0t0: 5.5.0.1
Swap usage: 0% IP address for as0t2: 5.5.8.1
Processes: 124 IP address for as0t3: 5.5.12.1
Users logged in: 0

Graph this data and manage this system at https://landscape.canonical.com/

Ubuntu 10.10

Welcome to Ubuntu!
* Documentation: https://help.ubuntu.com/

System information disabled due to load higher than 1

474 packages can be updated.
0 updates are security updates.

*** System restart required ***
Last login: Sun Oct 10 17:37:57 2010 from
dan@itseybox:~$


The bit in bold confuses me, apt-get upgrade and do-release-upgrade show everything as being up to date, is there any way to confirm if the upgrade has worked or not?

mrgs
October 10th, 2010, 09:02 PM
Did you notice the 'system restart required?'-message? :-)

Vyizis
October 10th, 2010, 10:34 PM
I did, i have restarted it several times! The message stays.

mrgs
October 11th, 2010, 12:13 AM
How does it work when booted from a live CD?

Rob_Quads
October 11th, 2010, 09:40 AM
I've also seen the same problem. Not packages to be installed by the updater but the login screen says there is and keeps saying a reboot is required.

Vyizis
October 11th, 2010, 05:38 PM
The system does not have a cd drive, monitor, kb or mouse its not so easy to test the system in a live environment. I don't think the issue has anything to do with a hardware incompatibility. I think the issue stems from me performing the upgrade using ssh and dropping the connection half way though. Unfortunately I didn't use screen the first time round so I had to start the process again.

mrgs
October 11th, 2010, 06:59 PM
After all the failed attempts it is maybe best just to go for a clean install, if you can find a spare screen and the like.

VanDaMe
October 12th, 2010, 04:15 AM
I have the same issue


Welcome to the Ubuntu Server!
* Documentation: http://www.ubuntu.com/server/doc

System information as of Tue Oct 12 10:13:41 WIT 2010

System load: 0.14 Processes: 193
Usage of /: 1.6% of 135.62GB Users logged in: 0
Memory usage: 2% IP address for eth1: 172.16.0.15
Swap usage: 0%

Graph this data and manage this system at https://landscape.canonical.com/

Ubuntu 10.04.1 LTS

Welcome to the Ubuntu Server!
* Documentation: http://www.ubuntu.com/server/doc

System information disabled due to load higher than 1

1 package can be updated.
0 updates are security updates.

*** System restart required ***

I already restart the server for 5 times. But still have the same :mad:

Vchat20
October 12th, 2010, 07:05 PM
I have the same issue


Welcome to the Ubuntu Server!
* Documentation: http://www.ubuntu.com/server/doc

System information as of Tue Oct 12 10:13:41 WIT 2010

System load: 0.14 Processes: 193
Usage of /: 1.6% of 135.62GB Users logged in: 0
Memory usage: 2% IP address for eth1: 172.16.0.15
Swap usage: 0%

Graph this data and manage this system at https://landscape.canonical.com/

Ubuntu 10.04.1 LTS

Welcome to the Ubuntu Server!
* Documentation: http://www.ubuntu.com/server/doc

System information disabled due to load higher than 1

1 package can be updated.
0 updates are security updates.

*** System restart required ***

I already restart the server for 5 times. But still have the same :mad:

I'm getting the same thing even though my update manager list is clean and have rebooted a few times since then. This and vino not working are both really annoying.

No offense to the dev's, but it could have waited rather than wanting to hit 10-10-10 10:10 which nobody but the super obsessed would care about.

mrgs
October 12th, 2010, 07:45 PM
The problem is not the release date. It was like this with every release I remember.

An online upgrade is probably the most complicated of all operations one can do on a computer. The more the installation is tweaked, the more can fail. The developers have no chance to test all kinds of setup, so basically it is a shot in the dark.

The real problem is that people are encouraged to upgrade online without being properly warned of the risk. My guess is that most of them waste more time troubleshooting their upgrade than it would have taken to back up the data and do a fresh install.

Vchat20
October 12th, 2010, 07:59 PM
The problem is not the release date. It was like this with every release I remember.

An online upgrade is probably the most complicated of all operations one can do on a computer. The more the installation is tweaked, the more can fail. The developers have no chance to test all kinds of setup, so basically it is a shot in the dark.

The real problem is that people are encouraged to upgrade online without being properly warned of the risk. My guess is that most of them waste more time troubleshooting their upgrade than it would have taken to back up the data and do a fresh install.

Honestly never had any problems doing online upgrades on other distros. Even so, it further exacerbates the issue if they don't at least bother to test the upgrade mechanism from a clean stock install of the OS. This is my case where I am sitting save for my own personal data which has absolutely 0 modifications on ubuntu's own code. Stock 10.04 ubuntu-desktop lamp-server.

And I really do not want to do a clean install as I just did it 2 weeks ago on this machine and any extended downtime, expected or otherwise, isn't in the cards considering how long it's been down already.

My comment about the release date is more to the idea that these few and fairly minor (but still terribly annoying) bugs should not even logically be affected by these in-place upgrades and I'm sure with a little more testing rather than rushing the release out the door just to hit the specific date they wouldn't even be an issue right now.

*shrug* May just have to jump in and do some hand massaging on this and do some investigating to fix these issues on my own.

VanDaMe
October 13th, 2010, 03:01 AM
as I remember, this never happended before in Ubuntu upgrade :)

Kitagua
October 14th, 2010, 09:04 AM
Same issue here. Upgrade has been performed via ssh and screen session. The welcome message is splitted into two sections, the first part (Ubuntu 10.10) is fine 0 updates and nothing about "System restart required" while the second section still welcomes me to Ubuntu 10.04 pretending that there is one update and a system restart required. Where is this "welcome" message being generated?

roganjosh
October 14th, 2010, 08:45 PM
I have a similar issue. I upgraded to 10.10 using the Update Manager (via a VNC connection) but now when I log in via SSH I get this (these?) welcome message(s)...



Linux HTPC 2.6.35-22-generic #34-Ubuntu SMP Sun Oct 10 09:26:05 UTC 2010 x86_64 GNU/Linux
Ubuntu 10.10

Welcome to Ubuntu!
* Documentation: https://help.ubuntu.com/

0 packages can be updated.
0 updates are security updates.

Ubuntu 10.10

Welcome to Ubuntu!
* Documentation: https://help.ubuntu.com/

684 packages can be updated.
0 updates are security updates.

*** System restart required ***
Last login: Thu Oct 14 20:32:49 2010 from router

Xpistos
October 15th, 2010, 03:46 PM
I have not done any upgrade on my system and I am getting the same error message on my 10.04.1 LTS server:


"System information disabled due to load higher than 1"

jason.craven
October 15th, 2010, 07:48 PM
Here's the fix: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1593161

Thaskalas
November 10th, 2010, 11:21 PM
Thanks for the link, it fixed my issue!

alecz20
October 21st, 2011, 04:46 PM
The system does not have a cd drive, monitor, kb or mouse its not so easy to test the system in a live environment. I don't think the issue has anything to do with a hardware incompatibility. I think the issue stems from me performing the upgrade using ssh and dropping the connection half way though. Unfortunately I didn't use screen the first time round so I had to start the process again.

I do all my upgrades over SSH using screen, otherwise it's too risky.

Also, if I have a heavily customized system, that I don't want to lose, I take an image with Clonezilla before the upgrade. It is true that I need to attach keyboard, and monitor, but I think it's worth the trouble.