PDA

View Full Version : Ah man...I've become the computer guy :'(

Legendary_Bibo
October 10th, 2010, 01:26 AM
At my college where I work as a tutor, some of the tutors have noticed me bringing in my laptop and notebook (laptop runs Ubuntu, notebook runs Win7), and they began asking me how many computers I have which being honest about was a bad idea (laptop, notebook, and I used to have two P4 desktops running Xubuntu, but I gave one away). I also kind of mentioned that I like to take old computers and get some use out of them. Now they keep bugging me about their computer problems, and the want me to fix them. I know how to, and I can, but I really don't want to. Help!!! Make them go away, I never want to lay my eyes on Vista again! Fixing the macbook was easy, the tutor who owns it just didn't know how to connect to the internet, and she just wanted help installing some Magic doohickey touchpad thingy. The guy with the Vista laptop won't leave me alone! He was having BSODs and registry problems so I told him to get CCcleaner, and I had to walk him through how to google for it, how to click a link, and when it got to the point where he needed to know how to download it, I just told him to figure it out for himself. I won't get into walking him through defragging his hard drive. I don't want to be the computer guy, how do you get rid of these people, or at least deal with them‽

Ctrl-Alt-F1
October 10th, 2010, 01:30 AM
I wonder how many of his problems are due to PEBKAC. He sounds pretty incompetent.

CharlesA
October 10th, 2010, 01:37 AM
Yeah. Tell him to take it to Geek Squad or something. *hides*

Dustin2128
October 10th, 2010, 01:49 AM
I wonder how many of his problems are due to PEBKAC. He sounds pretty incompetent.
almost all of them. As caribou said, windows would be an almost perfect OS without the users ;).