PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Nvidia driver installation issues

febro
October 8th, 2010, 09:41 AM
Hello guys, I need some help from experienced linux users on how to properly install newest nvidia drivers on my Ubuntu 10.04

Being a total beginner to linux, I can't seem to find a decent guide on how to install these drivers without much hassle, even though I've been searching for almost couple of hours now.

First, my system specs, taken with HardInfo

Processor : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 240 Processor
Memory : 3091MB (1865MB used)
Operating System : Ubuntu 10.04.1 LTS

-Display-
Resolution : 1360x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : GeForce GT 220/PCI/SSE2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation

-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia

-SCSI Disks-
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22NS50

---
Now, I've installed the "default" (dunno if that would be the correct categorizing :P) driver with the "Hardware drivers" utility from System->Preferences->Hardware drivers because I've failed numerous times trying to install the package from nVidia site (http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/linux-display-amd64-256.53-driver-uk.html) ; I would always get an error while trying to run the package :
"It seems that X server is running on your linux, please deactivate it to install this package" or something like that, but I'm sure it was about X running.

I would really appreciate if someone experienced would advise me on how to remove old drivers (if that step is needed) and properly installing the ones provided in the link a bit above.
I remind you that I'm a total beginner for linux, so it would be awesome if You could explain it to me like I am a retard :D

Thank You in advance :)

febro
October 8th, 2010, 01:43 PM
Bump ? :P

andrewthomas
October 8th, 2010, 02:15 PM
Try this thread.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1571606

febro
October 8th, 2010, 02:28 PM
Thanks for the link, but new problem appeared.