PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to partition disk

Kauai
October 8th, 2010, 09:33 AM
Hi. Currently I only have Ubuntu installed on my laptop taking up my main drive. I'd like to partition my disk into two separate partitions. Whenever I open up terminal and type fdisk /dev/sda I always get: unable to open /dev/sda despite the fact that System>Administration>Disk Utility shows it as my main device. (/dev/sda1 is the main volume)

Any advice? Thanks. I'm new to Ubuntu so I'm a bit baffled.

Note: When I try to format either the device or volume directly in DIsk Utility, it says they're mounted.

lisati
October 8th, 2010, 09:36 AM
You might have to use a "Live CD" if you want to resize your main Ubuntu partition, as nasty things can happen if you resize a partition that's currently mounted.

Kauai
October 8th, 2010, 09:47 AM
You might have to use a "Live CD" if you want to resize your main Ubuntu partition, as nasty things can happen if you resize a partition that's currently mounted.

Noted. I actually figured out what was wrong with the above as well, as it seems I was forgetting to do the above in a root terminal.

I was able to access fdisk now.

Now my true tech-illiterate question: What is all this cylinder, sector, etc stuff when setting up a new partition? My HDD is 500gb (488gb accounting for logical/temporary partition) so what do I type if I want to split that in half? I'm assuming each "cylinder" etc accounts for a certain amount of bytes but...not sure.

EDIT; Whenever I try to partition the primary partition it says its already defined. If I select a new number (1-4) it says no free sectors available. Could someone just tell me how to partition?

srs5694
October 8th, 2010, 04:31 PM