PDA

View Full Version : IT field employment around now

onesandzeros
October 7th, 2010, 10:31 PM
Hello all,

I was told recently that IT unemployment in the northeastern US (like DC to Boston) may be as low as 3.5%. Seems a little low to me, although thinking about it, this field is probably somewhat better off than others. Have any of you experienced-but-non-manager types been looking for or found work lately? I've been thinking about taking a few months to do some certs. I watch several job boards, there aren't like 20 new listing daily, but there are several a week. Thanks!

ST3ALTHPSYCH0
October 8th, 2010, 12:21 AM
I picked up a job in Feb (granted, I'm a 1099 contractor for them) with no official experience. If you know your crap, you're employable.

Mike'sHardLinux
October 8th, 2010, 12:27 AM
A friend of mine got a better job in IT about 4 months ago. I just got a better job about 2 months ago. Another friend of mine just got a better job and starts in a couple of weeks. The jobs are definitely out there! Work hard, study hard, make a reputation for yourself.

I realize I am not in the NE, but the IT field as a whole has grown somewhat this year as the economy had improved a bit.

phrostbyte
October 8th, 2010, 12:56 AM
I hate to sound arrogant? When I graduated from my University, I put about a total of 2 hours of effort into looking for a job, and I ended up having to turn down several job offers. My degree is a BS in Computer Science. I also had a very high GPA though.

juancarlospaco
October 8th, 2010, 01:49 AM
Graduated from University means nothing if only you got that,
i work at an university, i see on people that finish the career quickly,
they are GREAT on math, seriously great, but they dont have bare-metal-IT Skills,
they didn't learn how to get an LXC up'n'running via SSH,
dont learn how to configure Port-Channels on Cisco routers,
they didn't learn how to re-ensamble a crashed RAID 6.

I dont say that they dont want/try to,