PDA

View Full Version : Laptop cleaning - Should i open it or just use gas duster?

donniezazen
October 7th, 2010, 08:38 PM
Hello,

I have a 3-4 year old Dell Inspiron 6400/E1505. It keeps running its fan even when i use a laptop cooler and outside temperature is really low. The bottom of it is really hot all the time. Should i open it and deep clean it? Is it worth considering the risk that i have no first hand experience in hardware i might kill it. Or would a gas duster be able to give me good enough result? Will this help in keeping my laptop cool? Any other tip would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Ctrl-Alt-F1
October 7th, 2010, 09:07 PM
I say open the hardware. Doing it from the outside is going to have very little effect. However, if you are super technically challenged, you should have a friend more technically inclined help.

Make sure it's unplugged, the battery is disconnected, etc. Also make sure you don't have any static electricity. You probably don't actually need to touch anything, just blast it out with a can of air.

Brent0
October 7th, 2010, 09:19 PM
Some laptops are extremely easy to disassemble. It will probably just take a screw driver, paper towel and rubbing alcohol for removal of the old stuff, and new thermal grease.
Yesterday I opened up my 5770 and replaced the compound- dropped the temperature by 10c. Now I have some overclocking potential. :guitar:
Only attempt this if you are familiar with your hardware though.

TheLions
October 7th, 2010, 09:33 PM
Hello,

I have a 3-4 year old Dell Inspiron 6400/E1505. It keeps running its fan even when i use a laptop cooler and outside temperature is really low. The bottom of it is really hot all the time. Should i open it and deep clean it? Is it worth considering the risk that i have no first hand experience in hardware i might kill it. Or would a gas duster be able to give me good enough result? Will this help in keeping my laptop cool? Any other tip would be much appreciated.

Thanks.