PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Multiboot many linux's, where to begin?

xenosaga01
October 5th, 2010, 12:06 AM
Hi, I am new to using Linux. I want to try multiple copies of Linux at the same time. I also plan on keeping my windows. I have 2 harddisk drives. A 500gb for my Windows, and a 180gb drive for the linux installations. The first version of Linux I intend to install is Ubuntu 10.04.1 desktop 64bit. The second is Debian 5.05 64bit. I was wondering if someone could first tell me how I should make my partition on the hdd for the multiboot?

andrewthomas
October 5th, 2010, 12:31 AM
It might be easier to install Debian first, then Ubuntu using the side-by-side option.

oldfred
October 5th, 2010, 12:58 AM
I put my data into a common /data partition and mount it into each install. (I created script from history of manually doing it first time). I create several 20-25GB system partitions and if just upgrading will copy settings from /home but do not share /home at all. You do have to decide which system will be the "master" and have its grub controlling boot. With 2 drives you could have different boot loaders in each drive, but I like to have the boot loader in a drive boot a system on that drive so each drive can be booted just incase the other fails.

Partitioning basics with some info on /data older but still relevant
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=282018&highlight=separate+%2Fdata+partition

How to Multi-boot (Maintain more then 2 OS) old grub
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=724817
Painless Linux Multi-boot Setup - see also comments by Morgan Hall
http://blog.linuxtoday.com/blog/2009/08/painless-linux.html
oldfred's versions (post #5) of data linking from above blog, based on more from comments
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1405490