PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Startup Problem With 10.04 (lucid)

chicago uptown
October 4th, 2010, 10:47 PM
Hi- Thanks in advance for reading through this post. I've only been a linux user for 1.5 yrs, so I'm still learning the ropes.

I've been running 10.04 (lucid, Kernel Linux 2.6.32-25-generic, GNOME 2.30.2) for about 3 or 4 months and everything has been great, until yesterday.

All of the sudden, bootup has started taking longer than usual and the panel at the top of the screen with "applications", "places", etc. doesn't appear until the machine has been running for at least 2 minutes.

Also- the mouse and keyboard (and my external hard drive), all of which are usb, do not respond until about 2 minutes after startup appears to have finished.

So, basically, here's what happens when I power the machine on:

1. Everything functions quickly, and as normal, until my desktop picture shows and the icons on it appear.

2. Whereas before I would have had mouse and keyboard use (and use of the top panel with applications, places, etc.) at this point, I don't have use of any of these.

3. So I just wait, without keyboard or mouse, etc. for about 2-3 min and all of the sudden the top panel emerges, the mouse and keyboards start working, and then the external hard drive appears.

4. As if this weren't annoying enough, after everything above starts to work, opening applications (e.g. firefox) takes a lot longer than it used to. Basically, starting any application after startup takes a long time the first time it's opened.

I don't understand why this is happening. Before this, startup was super fast, and everything was working great. I dont know how to check into recently loaded updates, but perhaps something got changed there that is causing the problem.

I haven't changed anything hardware related at all, so I don't imagine the change in performance is due to anything on that front, but I could be wrong.