PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Urgent please help : (

mrhank
October 2nd, 2010, 04:37 PM
Ok guys, i really messed up this time! I'm desperate here so please help me out. Yesterday I tried installing ubuntu studio, I have 4 hard disks each with 500gigs. In the installation process I chose to install U-Studio on hard disk D, where i had nothing. So at the end of the process the Installation tells me it need to install GRUB, I've had some bad experience in the past with GRUB so I totally FREAK OUT and choose not to install GRUB. Now before all this it tells me that it will format my drive D which was ok since I had nothing on it but after installation finishes U-Studio won't start and I CANNOT dual boot into Windows. This is where the massive panic starts, I had MY PICS AND VIDS(which are precious to me and yes i know i should've backed everything up, STUPID!!!) located in disk C where windows was installed! After windows won't start I insert the Windows installation disk and try to repair my pc...but nothing. So at this point I decide to install windows again, but in the installation process where i had to choose where to install windows it turns out that I couldn't choose any of my hard disks because it said that none of them were NTFS!!! I don't know what happened, I only chose hard disk DDDDD why did it format all 4 of them??? Ok so i use g-parted to format 1 into NTFS, i install windows and now i can see 3 of my hard disks...1 is missing and i am praying to god it's the one where i had all my stuff in. I attached a picture of what Disk Manager shows me, and I think i have way too many partitions there. Someone please help ME!!! :' (

If you need any more info pls let me know...thnx... : (

luvshines
October 2nd, 2010, 04:53 PM
You should try the testdisk utility.

It has proved to be a real magician in such cases

Install testdisk, run it and do a deep scan of your HDD
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk_Step_By_Step

nlsthzn
October 2nd, 2010, 04:58 PM