PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] do I need ubuntu-desktop?



nerdy_kid
October 2nd, 2010, 01:45 PM
do I need the (k)ubuntu-desktop meta package to be installed for a distro upgrade to work right? I currently installed my kubuntu from the ground up so I dont have kubuntu-desktop installed; and I don't want it installed either. Pulls in some apps (like openoffice) that I do not want.
thanks!

PaulW2U
October 2nd, 2010, 01:57 PM
do I need the (k)ubuntu-desktop meta package to be installed for a distro upgrade to work right? I currently installed my kubuntu from the ground up so I dont have kubuntu-desktop installed; and I don't want it installed either. Pulls in some apps (like openoffice) that I do not want.
thanks!
No you don't. That's all installing a meta package will do, install a pre-defined set of applications or packages.

nerdy_kid
October 2nd, 2010, 11:30 PM
No you don't. That's all installing a meta package will do, install a pre-defined set of applications or packages.

ok thanks. I had thought that I read somewhere that I needed one of the *-desktop packages for the upgrade, but that didn't make much sense to me.