PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Creating partitions using fdisk

regsethu
September 30th, 2010, 07:27 AM
Hi,

I am a beginner to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I have a dell poweredge 2950 server which had red hat on it. I have installed ubuntu on top of it. I have replaced master boot record during the installation of ubuntu as I dont want use red hat anymore.
During the installation it asked me for the space I wanted to give for Ubuntu and I provided 10GB.
Now I can use only 10GB of my harddrive until I mount other partitions correct?

So when I type sudo fdisk -l I get the below printed:

Disk /dev/sda: 146.2 GB, 146163105792 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 17769 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000c873a

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 32 248832 83 Linux
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2 32 17770 142485505 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 32 17770 142485504 8e Linux LVM

I dont know what Linux LVM means. I know I have 2 harddisks both 150GB in a RAID configuration. So may be it means that.

Now I want to create logical paritions in my Extended partition and then mount that to a directory so that I can use that space. Is this the only way to access the remaining space?

When I try
sudo fdisk /dev/sda
then type n to create a new partition
then type l to create a logical partition
it throws an error saying No free sectors available.

Please tell me how can I access the remaining spaces in my harddisk?

srs5694
September 30th, 2010, 06:30 PM
You don't have a RAID configuration, or at least not a software RAID configuration. (It's possible you've got a hardware RAID controller that's presenting two or more disks as /dev/sda.)