PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Warning: Don't use 'tasksel' on a Ubuntu desktop

oregonbob
September 30th, 2010, 04:02 AM
I wanted to add dns-server to a Ubuntu Karmic running Mint 8. The "tasksel" command looked very handy for this, so I did a "sudo tasksel", then put a checkbox on "DNS Server" and hit the only other option--an "OK" button. Without and warning or prompt or anything it wiped out most of the operating system including gnome, all the components of desktop and network configuration! It removes all packages of ubuntu-desktop! Crazy! Even worse if you crash out of it, it finished removing packages in the background! That seems like definition of a virus to me, definitely malware.

So be warned don't use "tasksel"! It is a dangerous command!

cariboo
September 30th, 2010, 04:18 AM
I've been using tasksel for over 10 years, I've never seen it do anything like that.

Did you have any other pending actions?

oleink
September 30th, 2010, 04:23 AM
interesting. Sounds weird cause I thought lots of people used it without problems. I'm not super smart so i'm not sure i'd even know what i was doing in the first place. Well i mean i'm smart just haven't been as exposed to this stuff yet. Most of my stuff is not server related although I have been part of a networking program

oregonbob
September 30th, 2010, 04:25 AM
No I wasn't trying to install or remove anything else. I found a thread on here of others who confirm this horrible bug. Maybe you use options when you install with tasksel? I just entered "tasksel" at command line.

I also see people running 10.04 with same bug. I checked bug reports. So it is in all versions apparently. The machine I was on was remote, so now I can't connect to it at all. I'll have to drive to site tomorrow.

Bug report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/tasksel/+bug/150252?comments=all

Other thread on here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1369551&highlight=tasksel+removes+packages