PDA

View Full Version : quick question for the com sci/math grads out there

mo.reina
September 29th, 2010, 08:38 AM
i'm a self taught 'programmer' (2 sems of computer science at uni which don't really amount to anything), so when i come across formulas like the one here (http://www.quuxlabs.com/blog/2010/09/matrix-factorization-a-simple-tutorial-and-implementation-in-python/)(used to 'guess' movie ratings) i'm usually at a loss.

my question is does this fall under machine learning/AI, or just under general math (like the stuff you find at khanacademy).

gzarkadas
September 29th, 2010, 11:40 AM
It is definitely not machine learning/AI. It is an iterative minimisation method used to approximate unknown values, employing linear algebra and differential calculus; thus general math, under your classification.

mo.reina
September 29th, 2010, 03:40 PM
It is definitely not machine learning/AI. It is an iterative minimisation method used to approximate unknown values, employing linear algebra and differential calculus; thus general math, under your classification.

cool thanks.

so the next question is... is it 'necessary' to learn this kind of math, machine learning, both, or none?

obviously it depends on what someone wants to do, but i'm speaking from a general point of view. and if so, where does one go, outside of uni? i don't think self study is gonna cut it when the topics become this complicated.

gzarkadas
September 29th, 2010, 09:42 PM
The only true requirement for programming is the program to be correct (there is also the need for efficiency, easy maintenance, etc., but all these are useless if the program is not correct).

If you don't understand the math beyond a calculation, you can try find a library that does this for you. If you can't find this library and still want to do it, then it is necessary to understand the math behind the calculation.