PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install Ubuntu On Multiple (Identical) Machines?

csharpplus
September 26th, 2010, 09:59 PM
Hi All,

I am an Ubuntu newbie, and would greatly appreciate your help with the following:

I would like to set up Ubuntu on 20 identical laptops (IBM Thinkpad T60). What is the best / fastest way to do so?

Thanks,
cSharp.

P.S. all laptops are with the exact same hardware configuration, and empty hard drives (no OS is installed).

mörgæs
September 26th, 2010, 11:21 PM
I have not tried myself, but I guess Clonezilla will do the job:
http://www.clonezilla.org/

csharpplus
September 27th, 2010, 12:16 AM
Thank you very much for your help. I appreciate it.

mörgæs
September 27th, 2010, 12:21 AM
You are welcome. Liberating 20 machines from Windows in one go is an act worth helping :-)

csharpplus
September 27th, 2010, 12:31 AM
Thanks for your help.

By the way, can you help with some clues on how to connect all these machines in a network, so that I can (say) SSH into machine Y from machine X? is it complicated?

Thanks in advance!

amauk
September 27th, 2010, 12:35 AM
Just install openssh-server on all machines
then you can SSH in with
ssh user@ip_address

csharpplus
September 27th, 2010, 03:00 AM
Just install openssh-server on all machines
then you can SSH in with
ssh user@ip_address

Thank you, amauk, for your reply.

So I just install 'openssh-server' on all machines, connect them to a hub and that's it?
Is there any other configuration / anything that I need to take care of?

Also, instead of using the IP address of every machine, is there a way to establish a constant 'name' for every machine that will be part of the network, so that would be able to access every machine by its 'name' (something like 'SSH Machine1', 'SSH Machine2', 'SSH MachineN'...)?

amauk
September 27th, 2010, 03:30 AM
Also, instead of using the IP address of every machine, is there a way to establish a constant 'name' for every machine that will be part of the network