PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Switching to Ubuntu

drewesq
September 25th, 2010, 12:56 PM
Hey guys, please don't think of this as a moan, because it isn't, but a lot of stuff in the repo that I have tried doesn't seem to work.
ie. various CD & DVD ripping software
evolution kept crashing, until you use it without any plugins
can't get banshee to write metadata to CDs, but did get it to sync with my Android phone!

I'm not that bothered about this stuff but it does stop me from totally committing to Ubuntu. It is probably because I am quite new to Linux and need to learn more!

I still love using Ubuntu as an "everyday machine".

Has anyone else had similar issues?
Can anyone get Ubuntu to do all they want it to?

MGMorden
September 25th, 2010, 03:10 PM
Can anyone get Ubuntu to do all they want it to?

Mostly, yes. I still have a Windows XP system on a KVM that I can flip to, but it's used strictly for playing games and syncing my iPod Touch (which I have never got to work well in Ubuntu, but I will be getting an Android phone in December that will eliminate that problem).

Which particular apps from the repos are you having issues with? I can't say that I've tried them all as at this point I have an app that I'm comfortable with for most uses and just use that, but what I do tend to try from the repos does tend to work.

I will say though that if you're new to a Unix-type desktop, it will take a while to adjust. I started dabbling with Linux off and on (dual-booting and such) back around 1998. Used Solaris heavily during my college years as that's what the university comp sci labs ran. Since that was largely remote usage via terminals I really got a good feel for Unix in general from that. I still didn't switch to Linux as my main everyday OS until mid-2009. Now that was largely a case of waiting for the platform to mature too, but still, it'll take a while before you feel truly comfortable in the new OS.

drewesq
September 26th, 2010, 01:24 PM