PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] VirtualBox Newbie Questions

pbhill
September 25th, 2010, 04:25 AM
I have been using Ubuntu for a few years, but still dual boot into XP for a couple of key programs. I find that my XP installation is corrupt and I need to reinstall. This looks like a good time to ask if it makes sense to install XP in VirtualBox rather than on a separate partition. Rebooting all the time is a a pain. I have tried VB but only with other Linux Distos. Do I still need to have all those pesky Microsoft Updates? What happens when I upgrade Ubuntu? I can't risk losing any data. Can anyone point me in the right direction here?

cocopuffz
September 25th, 2010, 12:38 PM
Yes. You'll still need to install the windows updates in the virtual machine version of Windows... make sure you use the non OSE version of virtualbox. You can't use USB in the OSE version. I suspect that if you plan on using windows in a vm, you're going to want to have it replace a full machine with all a full machines functions.

If you want dx9 support, start your win vm in safemode when you install guest additions.

I even defrag my vm's.

howefield
September 25th, 2010, 01:26 PM
Do I still need to have all those pesky Microsoft Updates?

Your VM will think it is a "real" installation, and will behave as if it were, and so will need to be treated like one with regard to not only updates, but protection and housekeeping also.

What happens when I upgrade Ubuntu? I can't risk losing any data.

Nothing will happen when you upgrade Ubuntu, at least not to your VM, but would you lose your only copy of valuable data if your hard disk died ? If yes, then you need to revisit your backup strategy.

linux4me
September 25th, 2010, 05:44 PM