#include<readline/readline.h>
#include<readline/history.h>
#include<iostream>
#include<string>

int main(){

char asdf=readline("# ");

return 0;
}

readline returns a char *. Your variable, asdf, is a char. Don't forget to allocate the memory that your char * points to before you call readline.

pianoboy3333
April 10th, 2006, 08:56 PM
readline returns a char *. Your variable, asdf, is a char. Don't forget to allocate the memory that your char * points to before you call readline.

so use char * asdf=readline("# "); ? How do I allocate memory?

pianoboy3333
April 10th, 2006, 09:16 PM
When I do char * asdf=readline("# "); I get the error:

/tmp/ccIv9qtJ.o: In function `main':test.cc:(.text+0x24): undefined reference to `readline'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

rplantz
April 11th, 2006, 04:14 AM
Okay, I take back what I said about having to allocate space for the text string. I've never used readline before, and some exploration indicates that it allocates the space itself. You definitely want to check this out!

I had to install libreadline5-dev, which I did using synaptic. It included libncurses5-dev as a dependency.

Next, I had to specify the readline library when compiling with the -lreadline option:

$ g++ -lreadline readln.cc

Here's the program I used to test this:

// added memory deallocate -- 4/12/06
#include<stdio.h>
#include<readline/readline.h>
#include<readline/history.h>

int main(){

char* asdf = readline("# ");
printf("You entered: %s\n", asdf);
free(asdf);
return 0;
}

Again, I've never used readline in a program, so please double-check everything I've said here. I did not test my program to see if readline works as advertised.

From the very little I read about readline while figuring this out, it looks interesting. I learned something new today. :) I would appreciate any pointers to places where I can learn more about readline.

tomchuk
April 11th, 2006, 04:34 AM
EDIT: Oops, beaten to the punch.