PDA

View Full Version : Software Engineering Research Topic

ahathaway
September 24th, 2010, 02:54 AM
I am a graduate student tasked with coming up with a research project for my software engineering course. I wanted to select a research topic that had to do with Open Source Software development. A few ideas I had were:
1. The development models of OSS.
2. The effectiveness and use of formal training of Open Source software developers.

The topic has to be very focused and has to do with Software Engineering. If anybody would like to throw out some ideas it would be great appreciated. Thank you.

tgalati4
September 24th, 2010, 03:55 AM
I would spend some time reading Mark Shuttleworth's blog and if you don't have any new topics jump out then send him an email and see what he think's would be a good research topic.

ahathaway
September 24th, 2010, 04:34 AM
Great suggestion. I already read his blog but never with an eye to sniff out research projects to perhaps I can go back and look through it.

BrokenKingpin
September 24th, 2010, 08:51 PM
I would spend some time reading Mark Shuttleworth's blog and if you don't have any new topics jump out then send him an email and see what he think's would be a good research topic.
You should ask Linus Torvalds while you are at it. Hell, you could shoot Bill Gates and email, I am sure he would have some great topics for you as well!

ahathaway
September 24th, 2010, 08:55 PM
So I have determined a SE topic.

Formal Training Within The Open Source Community

Is there any significance placed on formal software engineering training in the Open Source community?

Discuss the prevalence of trained software engineers within the Open Source community.

Discuss the ways in which software engineers are trained within the community.

Determine if there is an open source community that already benefits from the advantages of formal training or if the community pushes on without the need for formal training.

Let me know what you think.