PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ubuntu server blank screen + blinking cursor after install

marty80
September 23rd, 2010, 06:09 PM
Hi,

I'm a newbie and trying to install ubuntu server to run a samba home server.

I have installed it from usb as the cd installation failed at the point where you decide which type of installation you want (lamp or samba, etc)

the installation completed but when booting nothing happens, only a black screen with a blinking cursor. pressing the shift key or any other keys doesn't work.

strangely when i boot from the usb flash drive again (and not from the hard drive) the server does boot and asks for the user name and password!!

i have chosen the guided lvm partition with 20% reserved for system files.

my machine is an athlon xp 2GHz (32bit), 1GB, SATA hard drive, nvidia 6600 graphics

my guess is that its a problem with grub and lvm.

many thanks for your help in advance

cheers, martin

marty80
September 24th, 2010, 08:41 AM
bump

sikander3786
September 24th, 2010, 08:58 AM
<snip>

Sorry. Wrong post.

canonhead311
October 4th, 2010, 11:35 AM
Bump... I seem to be having the same issue. I have done some searching and most forums I have found have the error trying to load X and they fix that in GRUB. I can't seem to get to GRUB.

I did my first server install a couple of weeks ago and starting playing with some options for a home server... I pretty much had it figured out what all I wanted on my server and decided to do a fresh install. I installed it the same way I did a few weeks ago, using the same disk as before writing over the previous partitions. No problem during the install.