PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No Audio - UNCLAIMED MULTIMEDIA

vmi
September 23rd, 2010, 04:15 PM
Hello and thank you in advance for any help or guidance you may be able to offer.

I'm new to Linux/Ubuntu although I'm fairly comfortable with Windows. I'm trying to learn my way around Linux and I thought Ubuntu would be a good place to start so I've decided to run Ubuntu under VirtualBox as guest on a Vista host. I've been able to successfully use Ubuntu under VirtualBox as well as download and successfully install some other virtual box images for a few other distros like LinX and Backtrack.

The problem I'm experiencing is with a Ubuntu image I recently imported into VirtualBox for web development. Almost everything works fine except I can't seem to get the hardware setup correctly as I was able to in another virtual machine when I installed Ubuntu [clean] and Ubuntu just detected and installed everything during initial installation on it's own. After I installed guest additions for the clean install everything worked flawlessly. In the imported webdev install however, I don't have any audio, the vm is lagging and slow to respond and I feel it's due to the hardware config from the original system the image must've been created on.

I'm not sure how Linux/Ubuntu work underneath but in Windows installations Windows will sometimes tend to bind itself to the hardware, forcing a reinstall. Is this the case with Ubuntu? or is it possible to re-detect / reinstall hardware changes? Ideally I would like to somehow extract the hardware config from my clean working VM into the webdev VM - is this possible? ie. some solution like driver genius for windows? Also how can I remove unused hardware settings that may be there from uninstalled / unavailable hardware? How can I claim UNCLAIMED hardware? If there are GUI and CLI solutions - I'd like to learn both.

Some things I've already tried:
-Matching the VM settings for the working and imported VM's