PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No launch bar after installation

UGoldwin
September 22nd, 2010, 07:22 PM
This is my second Ubuntu installation so I am not a pro.
I downloaded and installed latest Ubuntu Desktopn version (10.04.1 I think). Installation went fine without any problems until rebooting after completion. During shutdown the installation CD was ejected and some error occured.
I had to do a hard shut down in order to restart.
Start and login no problem.

The problem I have is that there is no Program/status bar visible (where Application, Places and System menues are). I tried to move the mouse around in order to see if menues are outside of screen but it's not. The only thing I can do is:
- right-click to bring up "Create folder, launcher etc" menu
- press F1 to bring up Help screen
- press power button (on pc) to bring up shut down dialog
I search for some answers here and the only one I found wass SHIFT+F2 to bring som launch bar but that didn't work.

Is there something wrong with the installation or am I missing some secret keycombinations to bring up program bar?

mörgæs
September 22nd, 2010, 09:39 PM
Welcome to the forum.

Before troubleshooting let's aim for getting an error-free installation. What happens if you install using the alternate ISO?

http://releases.ubuntu.com/

Remember to have wired internet access while installing.

UGoldwin
September 26th, 2010, 11:33 AM
I found some error information. When starting I get following error messages:

error: no suitable model found
error: unknown command 'terminal'

After that Ubuntu is loaded and I logon and it continues according to my previous mesage.

I am currently downloading alternate installation, but perhaps the above information could save me another installation?

UGoldwin
September 28th, 2010, 06:46 PM
Downloaded and installed Ubuntu Alternate 10.04.1.

Installation went fine - no error before, during or after completion.