PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trying to remotely connect to Ubuntu Server

SarAmyKay
September 20th, 2010, 04:08 PM
Hello All,
I am new to Ubuntu and have been trying to make a remote connection to my home server. I think I almost there. Here's what I have done:

1) Installed Ubuntu Server 10.0 on a Pentium 2 with 256K
2) Installed SSH, MySQL, desktop GUI and enabled remote access
3) Port forwarded my Lynksys to 5900:22 and 80
4) installed Putty and TightVNC Viewer
5) Obtained a DynDDS account

My interanl IP Addy = 192.168.x.yyy
My External IP Addy = 76.xxx.y.zzz

When I run Putty, the connection times out (which I am guessing that my server may not be setup correclty).

Since I am configuring all this at home, I am unable to simulate a true remote access unless I go to an outside location. Is there a way to test my connection from outside my network rather than waiting to login remotely from a place other than my home?

endotherm
September 20th, 2010, 04:23 PM
well, first things first, you shouldn't forward 5900 like that. have your vnc users tunnel in via ssh and then establish the vnc connection. vnc isn't secure enough to stand on it's own, but ssh can be configured to be pretty robust.

after that, try using canyouseeme.org to test that 22 is correctly forwarded. make sure the forward rule passes the packets to the specific host you want to receive them.

perspectoff
September 20th, 2010, 04:53 PM
I have sections on Remote Access at

http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Lucid#Remote_Access

and

http://kubuntuguide.org/Lucid#Remote_Access

They might help.

Also check out:

https://help.ubuntu.com/10.04/serverguide/C/openssh-server.html

From your choice of programs (Putty and TightVNC), it appears that you are trying to connect from a Windows machine as the client to an Ubuntu machine as the OpenSSH (and VNC) server.