PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Unmounting Weak file system-Error?

dmurphy787
September 20th, 2010, 12:23 AM
Upon shut down I have noticed that my system says "Unmounting Weak file system". I have taken steps to check that all software is installed correctly and up to date but I am quite new to Linux and I am still learning.
Does warning at shutdown mean that there is a problem with my file system?
Is there anything I can do to fix this?

simong6
October 14th, 2010, 02:59 PM
i have the exact same problem, i had a 1-00gb hdd that i knew was failing, replaced it with a brand new 160gb drive on tuesday and upgraded to 10.10 at the same time, upon restarting the new install, recieved countless read write errors which haven;t appeared since, and now get Unmounting Weakfile system upon shutting the laptop down.

i've also noticed that since the updates on Tuesday night, the machine is now running really quite slow compared to what i'm used to with ubuntu

dmurphy787
October 14th, 2010, 03:36 PM
Hi thanks for reply, my system is about 5 years old and does have some hard drive issues, like over heating problems etc. I managed to fix mine by reinstalling Ubuntu straight over the top again and the weak file system warnings have disappeared and not returned. I think that the system hardware issues possibly caused some issues on installation and a reinstall when my machine was feeling better fixed it.
Give it a go and let me know if you experience the same.

dino99
October 14th, 2010, 03:41 PM
dont worry about that, but some cleaning could help. You have the usual "sudo apt-get clean", autoclean, autoremove

and gconf-cleaner
and bleachbit (use as admin but set carefully the prefs)

if nothing help, then do a reinstall from scratch if things become weird.

dmurphy787
October 14th, 2010, 03:59 PM
I love the community of Ubuntu, it really does allow all of us to share and give to others as we should in life.
Thank you dino99 for your excellent info.

simong6