PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Failed Mac Mini Ubuntu 10.04 Triple Boot on OS X / XP system

Roni7
September 19th, 2010, 03:51 PM
I have a Mac Mini with OS X that I had dual booted successfully with Windows XP for my family. I am a rookie at all this but learned a lot Googling sites that walked me through things. I got bold and tried to triple boot the Mac Mini with Ubuntu 10.04 using rEfIt. I was following this website.

http://lifehacker.com/5531037/how-to-triple+boot-your-mac-with-windows-and-linux-no-boot-camp-required

MISTAKE #1
All was done to the letter until I accidently realized I had clicked install on step 8 before I clicked "Advanced" to check off the "Install Boot Loader" and changing the device to the partition I had made for Ubuntu (/dev/sda3/). It finished installing and rebooted with the rEFIt screen with Mac / Ubuntu /Windows icons. Mac started, but both Windows and Ubuntu showed a black screen with blinking underscore in the top left of the screen. I went back to the Mac OS and in Disk Utility I noticed that the Linux-Ubuntu name on the partition I had made changed to "DiskOS3".

Mistake #2
I panicked and used "Erase" in Disk Utility on that partition using the Zero Out Data security Erase option.

Mistake #3
Then I reinstalled the Ubuntu 10.04 cd into the drive and did the install boot loader steps. It started up but the rEFIt screen now has Mac/ two Ubuntu penguins/ and Windows icons. Mac starts and works, but both ubuntu icons and Windows leads to the black screen with blincking underscore cursor.

Here are specs and data for hard drive below:

My wife and 3 young sons use this as the main computer for homeschooling, etc. I messed up but know I will learn from these mistakes if someone can help me to fix it.

Thanks in advance to those willing to help this newbie :confused:

Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac mini
Model Identifier: Macmini3,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1