PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgraded from 9.10 to 10.04 and it appears the following.



jorgeluisj110
September 19th, 2010, 04:31 AM
Hello!

I've just upgraded from 9.10 to 10.04. When the laptop starts and after it runs ubuntu, the following error appears : "mount: mounting none on /dev failed: no such device". After that, a strange screen is displayed and finally the desktop appears.

The current fstab configuration is:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# Use 'blkid -o value -s UUID' to print the universally unique identifier
# for a device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name
# devices that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

# / was on /dev/sda5 during installation
UUID=afce118e-e09f-4077-ae58-c0ac1495d63d / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1

# swap was on /dev/sda6 during installation
UUID=141a3b85-6e7b-4bf8-959a-f4548ccbdc09 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0

# Windows Partition
#/dev/sda1 /media/windows ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0

# UUID=C131-9AAB /storage vfat defaults 0 0

# Data Partition
UUID=C131-9AAB /media/data vfat auto,users,uid=1000,gid=100,dmask=027,fmask=137 0 0

How can I fix it?

Thank you so much and I'll be waiting for your help!

mrgs
September 19th, 2010, 09:57 AM
I am not sure that I understand this. Are you saying that the normal desktop appears after the error message?

jorgeluisj110
September 19th, 2010, 01:49 PM
Yes, the normal desktop appears. Earlier this morning, I modified the grub.cfg to add the new kernel. Now, when the laptop starts and I choose Ubuntu, a black screen is shown for at least 5 seconds and then it appears the Ubuntu loading bar (it looks strange and I think there's some issue with it).
Now, I think the error has disappeared but I'd like to know if that black screen during 5 seconds approximately is normal, I don't think so. Before I upgraded to 10.04, the 9.10 started normally and it didn't show any black screen.
I appreciate your help.
Thank you so much.

mrgs
September 19th, 2010, 10:33 PM
I can not give an exact answer to that, sorry. The non-exact answer would be to try a fresh install and see if it works better.