PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ready to go all Ubuntu all the time

S. Vaden Blue
September 19th, 2010, 03:09 AM
I have been using ubuntu in a dual-boot situation with Windows Vista for about a week now and I love it. How do I go about allocating the rest of my system resources to ubuntu without performing a re-install? Is there any way to free up the Windows allocated partition and allocate that to ubuntu without messing up my system? Any help would be greatly appreciated. BTW, the initial install ran beautifully, if that's of any consequence here.

goodolandy
September 19th, 2010, 04:21 AM
I'm no Linux expert but I believe you would need to first move/re-create the boot loader on your Linux ext4 partition then use something like GParted to blow away the Windows partition and expand the ext4 partition.

Again, I'm no Linux expert so you will want to verify the above first by doing some Google searching.

maestrobwh1
September 19th, 2010, 04:37 AM
My suggestion as a Linux user since 2002: I would not wipe out your Vista installation. There are huge benefits to having two OS's on a machine (if one gets crippled, you have another). That being said, it is doable to do what you are asking, but be sure you really want to rid yourself of the Vista partition.

My suggestion if you are really sure you want to follow through with modifying your disk and OS setup, boot using the live CD (or usb you created).

Make sure you have an internet connection:

open a terminal and do

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install gparted (or partitionmanager for kde)

launch gparted from the menu

Do what you need to do with the program, knowing that you could possibly wipe out your data from your entire disk or make your machine unbootable from the hard disk (outside chance but still possible).