PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] "Portable" 10.04 Installation to External Harddisk

JasonInferno
September 17th, 2010, 07:19 AM
I've got an Asus notebook, a 230GB external harddisk, and an installation CD for Ubuntu 10.04 LTS. What I want to do is do a full install of 10.04 to my harddisk and have it boot on any USB-bootable computer. I'm aware that I need to change BIOS settings and allow the computer to boot from the USB device first.
I'm not a newbie to Linux in any way. I've been a steady user since 8.10, and the jargon and geek-lingo is something I can understand - one thing that sets me apart from the other support requesters!

My sketchy solution is to run the LiveCD from a host computer, set up Ubuntu as per usual, but install it to an (unmounted) external harddisk and install GRUB to that same disk.

Now, before I commit to anything, I want to make sure:

I can boot up 10.04 on any USB-bootable machine with no direct MBR modifications on the host computer,
The host PC that I used to install Ubuntu to the external HD can boot from it's primary OS (Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit) and not encounter any bootloaders, like GRUB,
The host PC doesn't have anything installed on it, i.e. bootloaders. This is meant to be taken around with me, not used on one specific machine.
The external HDD can be reformatted to FAT for general file storage use, and not be corrupted,
No host computers have any modifications done to them while running Ubuntu (i.e. partition corruption on the local machine, failure toboot in the future),
I have a proper installation (or as far as a full install to a USB HDD can go), not a WUBI, compressed squashfs, UNetBootin, or live installation.
That the USB HDD is "plug-n-play" bootable, i.e. I can hook it up, boot up, set to boot from USB, and have it boot cleanly - no bootloader command lines.
If this is possible, please get back to me. I'm not too picky on other specifications like if it can be updated or not.