PDA

View Full Version : C++ passing around stack object

ja660k
September 16th, 2010, 05:42 PM
Hey all,
okay... here's what i need.

i need to pass a std::stack into another class method, that method will then add data.
and i can then use that data in my class that called the method.

im not very good with pointers in C/C++ so any help is good.
what i have so far is

definition in caller class.

std::stack<std::string> *st;

calling

AnotherClass.getElements(&st);

prototype in AnotherClass

void getElements(std::stack<std::string> *);

and i get this error

void TreeNode::getElements(std::stack<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::deque<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::allocator<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > > > >*)’:
treeNode.cpp:48: error: no matching function for call to ‘TreeNode::getElements(std::stack<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::deque<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::allocator<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > > > >**)’
treeNode.cpp:45: note: candidates are: void TreeNode::getElements(std::stack<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::deque<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::allocator<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > > > >*)
treeNode.cpp:54: error: no matching function for call to ‘TreeNode::getElements(std::stack<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::deque<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> >, std::allocator<std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > > > >**)’