PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error in GRUB loading

rk45
September 16th, 2010, 01:28 AM
I'm completely new to Ubuntu sorry, so you'll have to bear with me.

I recently acquired a second hand computer. Its specs are:
Q8200 processor
Asus P5Q Pro motherboard
4GB RAM (I think it's made up of 2x1GB + 1x2GB DDR2-800)
ST3320620A Barracuda 7200.10 HDD (320GB)
Asus EN9800 GT video card

The only peripheral that is plugged in is a wireless mouse and keyboard set.

Palimpsest says that the hard drive has one bad sector, which I understand shouldn't be the end of the world. Running MemTest86 suggests that one stick of RAM failed part of test 4.

Now, I'm trying to do a clean install of Ubuntu 9.10 AMD64 onto it, but I'm running into trouble. I downloaded the image file for the installation, then burned a boot disk for it using ImgBurn at the slowest speed possible. It all goes fine up until it asks me to remove the boot disk as it restarts - when it restarts, it gives the message:

"GRUB loading.
no module name found
Aborted. Press any key to exit."

I searched the forums for a solution to this, and found a recommendation for GAG Bootloader. I can set up a key for Ubuntu easily enough, but then trying to boot it yields:

"Sector boot not found or invalid"

I can run Ubuntu 9.10 directly off the boot disk without any issues, which made me think that it might be an issue with the hard drive.

I don't know if it's related, but trying to install an old copy of Windows XP with SP3 resulted in the infamous Trap 00000006 error - Exception error, which didn't come right using the Windows Recovery Console. I have run chkdsk on the hard drive which completed properly.