PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu vs. Super OS

gavdari
September 16th, 2010, 01:07 AM
Almost a newbie here, I was just wondering what are the differences between Ubuntu and Super OS? I am extremely happy with my current lucid, but I want to know if I can be happier migrating to Super OS? (I'm kinda greedy for happiness I guess!)

p.s. Besides any pros or cons, the name of Super OS seems cheesy to me. But let the name go, what is the REAL difference?

flick
September 16th, 2010, 01:12 AM
Nice list of real differences at :

http://hacktolive.org/wiki/Super_OS

Purely subjective opinion of mine : it is just a remastered Ubuntu with a bunch of stuff thrown in, with its own repository for a few extra packages of more or less value. I am a typical home user, find stock Ubuntu to be fast, pleasant, stable and secure. Your mileage may vary.

gavdari
September 16th, 2010, 01:41 AM
From what I see, there is nothing more in Super OS that I can't add to my Ubuntu, except for it's own repository. So I guess there is no point in moving. thanks.

Tibuda
September 16th, 2010, 01:47 AM
From what I see, there is nothing more in Super OS that I can't add to my Ubuntu, except for it's own repository. So I guess there is no point in moving. thanks.
Yes, it is just a remastered Ubuntu.

You can even add Super OS repository. It does not have anything you could not find elsewhere.
http://hacktolive.org/wiki/Super_OS_repository#Adding_the_repository

AnRuaRi
July 8th, 2011, 02:38 PM
The main advantage of this distribution is taht it's quicker to set up for people who want everything to work out of the box without needing to go searching for Codecs that they already have on their old ******* PC.

I was recommended to look at it by some people who sell Ubuntu computers as they find it quicker to set up. (and easier than making their own install disk which does the same thing)

Whistling Nixie
July 8th, 2011, 04:33 PM