PDA

View Full Version : Electronics Engineers, Hardware Hackers, etc.

theraje
September 15th, 2010, 10:21 AM
Hey folks,

A few years ago, I was looking into electronics engineering. Long story short, I got sidetracked because of some personal crises. Picked up a renewed interest in it a few days ago, and have been looking at all sorts of projects. My favorite is the "Dungeons of Doom" roguelike game, with a "Penguin Caffeinated Cinnamons" candy tin as an enclosure. :D

Anyway, the prior extent of my knowledge of electronics engineering comes from my days as a youngster playing "Robot Odyssey" on Ye Olde Tandy 1000. Then I discovered the XGameStation kits, and the book "The Black Art of Video Game Console Design" (which I own), and got into it pretty heavily, until... that thing happened.

Well, I was wondering how many people here have some kind of electronics engineering background, whether it's formal or self-taught, or if you are a pro or a hobby hacker. Also, any random tips are appreciated (I know how to make some simple circuits, and how to use a solderless breadboard. No experience with ICs or soldering yet).

:D

ssam
September 15th, 2010, 10:25 AM
a lot of people are basing little electronics projects around programmable micro controllers. one of the most popular is the arduino board, and various variations of it.

Khakilang
September 15th, 2010, 10:32 AM
Well I did assemble IBM compatible PCs where I work. Plug in the processor, RAM, display card, floppy drives and maybe a 20MB hard disk in a huge casing base on customer requirement.

theraje
September 16th, 2010, 01:31 AM
a lot of people are basing little electronics projects around programmable micro controllers. one of the most popular is the arduino board, and various variations of it.

I've seen the Arduino/Freeduino/Seeeduino boards, they're really nice. I also looked at the BASIC Stamp and the Parallax Propeller demo board back when I was first into this stuff. Awesome-looking stuff!